Iraq Bans Entry from 20 Countries over COVID-19 Variant
English Türkçe Kurdî
كوردی عربي فارسى


Iraq Bans Entry from 20 Countries over COVID-19 Variant

ERBIL — Iraq on Wednesday banned entries from and travel to 20 countries where the mutant COVID-19 has been detected.

The 20 countries are Great Britain, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Spain, Brazil, the United States, India, Australia, Japan, South Africa and Zambia, according to a statement by the media office of Iraqi Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi.

The decision was made during a meeting of the Higher Committee for Health and National Safety, which was chaired by PM Kadhimi to assess the measures against the spread.

The Iraqi citizens who return from the 20 countries mentioned in the list will be quarantined for 14 days, the statement added.

However, diplomats, official government delegations, workers in embassies, international organizations, and experts working in service projects are excluded from the entry ban, provided that they bring a PCR test conducted within 72 hours before they enter Iraq, according to the statement.